STRONG HEARTS CAFE: 719 East Genesee Street Syracuse, NY 13210 (315) 478-0000


“We’ve been serving affordable and delicious animal, earth and health friendly food since 2008. Our ever-evolving menu contains breakfast, lunch, soups, baked goods, teas, coffees, and amazing milkshakes. We strive to support local food producers and our community while setting an example as a business with sustainable products and practices.”

Hidden in the heart of Syracuse is this sweet spot called “Strong Hearts Cafe”.  Being a volunteer for Sea Shepherd I immediately noticed the Sea Shepherd flag hanging above the door.  Then I noticed a worker, who I later learned is the owner wearing a Sea Shepherd shirt.  I couldn’t help but wonder what his involvement was with the conservation group.  At this point I was starving and couldn’t wait to order.

I loved everything about this place! From their great menu to the awesome service We were in love.  Did I mention their shakes!!!!  They have this wall that lists all the shakes they make.  You want to know what the best part is besides that they are AMAZING… well they are named after humanitarians such as “Nelson Mandela, John Lennon, &  Harriet Tubman just to name a few.  They were so good that we went back the next day.

As I began writing this blog I decided to take a look at their website.  I was still really curious about the background of the owners.  As I read their bios I was really impressed by these two amazing gentleman. One of the owners, Nick Ryan pursued  a professional career working with troubled children. He worked successfully for over a year and a half as a therapist for high risk emotionally disturbed and mentally disabled youth. Though, he found his work with children both challenging and rewarding, he decided to open Strong Hearts with the other owner Joe Capolongo.

Joe  has been vegan for half his life, spending most of his time volunteering and  organizing several different animal rights groups and volunteering with Sea Shepherd Conservation Society on their ship. “The campaign was the subject of several media articles and news programs including 2 feature articles in Syracuse’s Post-Standard newspaper. The group’s journey to stop whaling also became the subject of a full length documentary adventure book called “The Whale Warriors written by a National Geographic writer who accompanied the group on their campaign.” He has traveled all around the world and has been fortunate enough to visit 45 out of 50 states advocating for animal rights and environmental issues.

I loved the cafe so much that I wanted to blog about it but first I asked permission.  The cashier had asked Joe and I promised I would write only good things.  He was very happy to accommodate me.  Joe and the rest of the staff were extremely nice and helpful.  The cashier had given me a list of several other places to visit for my blog as well which I thought was really nice.

This place is a good reminder of why I love being Vegan.  You meet all sorts of amazing and yet humble people in this community.    I love being around people who share the same love for the animals and the planet as I do.  As someone who mentors kids with special needs and also volunteers with Sea Shepherd these two men will hold a special place in my heart.

DID I MENTION HOW AMAZING THOSE SHAKES WERE??? 😉

to see the menu or to read more about these two incredible guys check out their site!!!

http://www.strongheartscafe.com/

Leave a comment